We will eventually have assumed control

Living through 1984 was a worthwhile milestone even if it didn't quite live up to the billing, and 1999 was good as far as it went, but even as a kid I'd figured out that I'd have to settle for 2012 as my closest brush with the ultimate year in rock (since the eternal youth treatments that might have given me the extra century are as conspicuously absent as the rocket cars, hyper-intelligent apes, teleportation and rollerball tournaments).  Though it does seem like the elder race of man (is that us?) should be well on its way to destruction by now (oh, right), and maybe someone should start thinking about a charter for that whole Solar Federation thing or at least scoping out a good site for temples at Syrinx, or of Syrinx, or however that works.

Oh well; on the plus side, at least we still have our guitars.

RELATED P.S.: This was always one of my favorite deep B-side selections from the lads in question, and thanks to this posting it's been playing in my brain all day long (and it should explain what the hell I'm talking about if you're not one of the two people who knew right off or the six others who were curious enough to figure it out with Google).

UNRELATED P.S.: On the plus side, this is the last of ten hellish years of having no agreed-upon way to refer to the current decade, followed by two years in pure decadal limbo; thank god that nightmare is nearly over.

8 thoughts on “We will eventually have assumed control”

  1. Me, I’m waiting for the ancient astronauts to return at the end of 2012, as the Mayan calendar prophesies, and assume their rightful place in control of the planet.
    And I’ve avoided the whole nomenclature hell problem by never actually referring to this decade as an entity at all. I’ve managed that for 10 years
    Happy (well, as much as possible) New Year!

    Like

  2. And I’ve avoided the whole nomenclature hell problem by never actually referring to this decade as an entity at all.
    Yep, me too, but that’s not avoiding the hell–that is the hell.

    Like

  3. Oh, I just got the joke. Never mind.
    Anyway, I really think a warning is necessary. It’s Rush, people. For god’s sake, don’t click.

    Like

  4. That’s a good one too, Jack. I first heard “In the End” on All the World’s a Stage and it took me a while to get used to the album version when I finally heard it. I’ve always been partial to Alex playing simple chords on an acoustic (like “Making Memories” from the same era).

    Like

  5. I’m with you, Jack, as an observer from a distant down under land. Your thoughts and opinions are like music.
    But as a very, very frustrated deaf person (only 6% sensitivity remaining in one ear, with the other one useless) I cannot for the fu__ing life of me understand a single word of Rush’s lyrics. Give me the clear, concise diction of Don McLean any day.
    Hey, I’m just saying, OK?

    Like

  6. I kept trying to persuade people to call them the “owe-ies”, because of the massive debt we accumulated via a simultaneous regime of tax cuts and war, but I guess the cutesiness of it repels people.

    Like

Comments are closed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started